Everyone is born right-handed. Only the gifted overcome it.

There’s something about the camaraderie left-handers have. There’s an instant connection and a South Paw high five when we meet. It’s like a secret society.

But lefties don’t have it easy. It’s a right-handers world. Right-handed scissors, kitchen utensils/tools and coffee mugs are all something us lefties don’t get to enjoy as easily. And that’s only to name a few.

My friend Erica, a fellow lefty & LPKer.

Lefties tend to use the right-handed side of their brain. When people are right brain dominant, they tend to be wishful thinkers, creatives and artists. We’re also good at sports, we’re good at multi-tasking, we use our hands when we talk and we like to visualize things.

So when I heard there was a National Left-handers Day, I had to convince LPK, the agency I am interning at, to jump on board. Rumor has it, left-handers are more creative, think outside of the box and are better with adverse situations. Given this is a design agency, I thought the holiday would be a perfect way to highlight some of these people and the agency work here.

But aside from that, the left life isn’t easy.

I elbow you at the dinner table. I walk on the left side of people. I veer to the left in a crowd. I hate right-handed scissors. Spiral notebooks are painfully awkward to work with.

High fives and hugs are terribly awkward. My roommate consistently makes fun of me for not being able to use a can opener. And then there’s that sinking feeling when you walk into a classroom and don’t see any left-handed desks.

I can’t work in the kitchen with right-handed people. Knives are usually made for righties, so cutting vegetables takes us longer. We also stir, pour, sprinkle, chop and was dishes left-handed. My mom (a righty) thinks I’m doing everything wrong and therefore kicks me out of the kitchen. It’s a catch-22.

We’re also more clumsy. I just tripped over my chair as I was climbing into my desk. Anyone who knows me can attest to this.

And we have to deal with pen smudges. When we write, our hand drags across fresh ink. The sides of our pinkies and wrists are consistently stained.

My left-handed brother, Chase.

One of my favorite infographics (sent to me by my brother Chase, a lefty) highlights some of the fun facts of the lefties. For example, we’re more likely to become alcoholics, we’ll have a higher salary and we’re better at video games.

Of the seven most recent presidents, 4 have been left-handed. Barack Obama, Bill Clinton, George H.W. Bush and Gerald Ford. Ronald Reagan was ambidextrous.

Although most of this post has been dedicated to the problems with being a lefty, I think it makes us better people. We can deal with adverse situations and can think outside of the box since we’re always adapting to the righty world.

So to celebrate today, notice the things you (right-handers) easily do right-handed and think of us lefties. We’ve already conformed to a lot of your ways. To name a few, we still use the computer mouse and we still hold our dinner knives with our right hands.

Until then, I’ll dream about making my breakfast in a kitchen built for lefties as I sip on my left-handed coffee mug.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

